Who am I?

My name is David Hollinger. I’m a fan of FOSS, Linux, Ruby, Puppet, DevOps, and just Technology in general.
If you would like to know more about me, head over to the About page or feel free to send me an email at david.hollinger@moduletux.com or reach out to me on Twitter.

What is ModuleTux?

Over the last seven years, I’ve been given the opportunity to be involved in the Technology business/community and I want to give back what I’ve learned in hopes that someone else can learn from my knowledge, experiences, and mistakes (and potentially go on to share as well).

While there will be plenty of general technology-related posts, a vast majority of them will be focused on the technologies, tools, and topics that I’ve spent the last few years neck deep in.

Specifically, look for posts related to:

  • Linux
  • Automation/Orchestration
  • Puppet
  • Ruby and Rails Development
  • DevOps

Why ModuleTux?

Just liked the sound of it. It’s kind of, but not really, an anagram for Puppet “modules” and Linux “Tux”. I kinda stole an idea from a friend and put my own twist on it.

Final notes

So this post is just the first of many to come.

This is my first Rails application outside of business applications that I’ve built and it still has much work to be done. Look forward to some small improvements over the next several weeks and I’ll have a post up in a few days detailing an installation process for setting up Puppet Server and PuppetDB on separate servers.

In the meantime, here are a few other absolutely awesome blogs and resources for you to pick through: